Chunambar

First off, the Arien did not believe that there was a place called Chunambar in Pondicherry. Now, I had researched this on the Internet and was a little Grr.. when he kept scoffing everytime I said we ought to visit Chunambar. Finally, he relented but we were unable to find the place 😦 Both of us were ready to give up when someone told us that we had been driving past the place for a while now. Grrr..

We purchased the tickets to get on the boat that would take us to Chunambar. It seemed like an island. I was wearing one of those sandal-type footwear and the moment we hit the beach sand – I was yelling and jumping as the hot sand was painful on my feet. The Arien was wearing shoes and so was grinning at my predicament. I was not too amused. I rushed ahead to find some shade and found to my suprise that almost all the huts (Ok – Shacks) were occupied or reserved. To add to this, we saw folks carrying banana leaves and basket loads of food. We were the only folks who were struggling to find a shack and did not have a picnic basket. It was a very warm day and I could feel the sand on my feet and it was not pleasant. The Arien was not amused when we reached an almost empty shack only to be told by an old lady that the boys were out swimming and would be back soon and so we should find another shack. Grr..

This trip was a total disaster. We waited for the boat so we could get back. I am sure that it was a right place, wrong time issue for us. I am sure it is a lovely place to visit. On our way back, we saw this huge boat and wished we had taken that. We may have enjoyed the trip better.