Yercaud – In and Arnd – Part II

MontFort School  (II Half of the Day)

Montfort EntranceAfter a nice cuppa Chai and snacks – we decided to visit the famous school, MontFort, at Yercaud. The Arien insisted we walk and so we did. It was a 3 km loong walk and it was a warm day. Jes wen I was ready to shout “Stop” – we had reached a small lake which was jes outside the school and so we walked on. The school was having a Sports Day or some such event and so there were quite a few adults in the school and we did not stick out like sore thumbs. 

After walking in, we realized that it was ob. a  very beeg school. The first thing I noticed was TennisMIPthat the classrooms resembled the ones in St. Josephs College in Bangalore.  They were all stone buildings – probably was pretty cold in the class-rooms. As we walked further into the school – we found ourslves drawn to the tennis court that had the beegest crowd – a doubles match was in progress and the kids were playing extra-ordinarily well. There was heavy cheering. We stayed and watched a few sets. The game was handled in a professional manner with a refree – I was very impressed. We saw quite a few strict teachers who yelled at some of the noisier kids. It was like being bk in school 🙂 We moved on as we wanted to check out the entire premises. 

BasketballCourtThe next ground that we wandered towards was the basketball one. I did not even know that sm schools have separate grounds for different sport events. Ours was a beeg school and we had a huge area which was used for various sports events etc.. but still I found this school was almost too good to be true. As we walked around, we came across a huge ground – tht wud probably be 3 grounds rolled into one – which was the football ground. FutballImpressed?? I wud probably say Awe-Struck!! Lots n lots of money def went into this… well, it was a school for rich kids and so I guess it is expected but I was still very very surprised.  This snap was taken on a loong shot so you can see how huge the place really was.  Have I already mentioned that I was very very impressed?? Well, I was – yet again! They also had a huge space for the swimming pool which was not open.  However, we could see a small portion of the pool from outside and it also looked pretty huge – jes like the others.. well well well. I really wonder how much it costs to have your kid in this school.

Emu?As we wandered around the premises, we came upon their zoo. I have never heard of a school that had its own zoo.  It was a day of firsts for me – I saw an Emu – for the first time in my life in their zoo.  That is one of the scary close-up shots of the flightless bird.  The Arien was equally surprised to see the Zoo.  It was the Arien who informed me that the thing… was an emu – I was wondering wht it was for a looong time b4 he helped me out 😛Cottagegarden

Instead of having a garden with a greenhouse – a la Lalbagh – they went for in for something less expensive or maybe it was a hobby of one of the teachers… anyway, they used an ole cottage for the garden. The cottage had quite a few amazing flowers and looked very well tended. Lot of folks stood there admiring the bright flowers. The house looked overgrown with plants but did not look bad at all. In fact, it looked rather nice. There was also a medium sized statue of the Eiffel Tower on the premises that indicated to me that the founder of the school was from Paris or France. One of the notable ppl who studied here, include Shashi Tharoor, author and politician, who is currently notorious for his (in)famous “cattle class”  statement, and Nagesh Kunnor,  director of the RockFord movie – well, you now know frm where he got his inspiration 😀

LeadersBy this time, we were completely tired out. We had spent the entire afternoon at the Montfort School and now we were ready to leave. As we walked out, we saw that to the left of the entrance – the wall had been decorated to show the children or the parents – the various national leaders and I was very impressed. As I tried to identify the various leaders, I realized that the image in the middle was that of Jesus Christ. At least, I think so. I did not want toa sk the Arien if I was right – he was not exactly patronising wen I bulbed ’bout the Emu – but if I ask this question – he is sure to be jes that 😀

Anyway, we decided to get going.. we had a nice looong walk back and as we reached the Yercaud bus-stop, the Arien suddenly decides to take an auto. For once, I did not say a word. My feet were aching so bad – I was actually pretty close to tears at tht time and so I was really glad that he had got us an auto. In less than 5 minutes we were dropped at the restuarant. We decided to watch Bheja Fry in the room. The movie was initially a lil slow and the Arien showed various signs of restlessness and then soon he was pretty engrossed. It is a clean, slow, quite funny movie which was actually the perfect end to Day 2. We were leaving Yercaud tomorrow post-lunch and so it was a nice lazy relaxed evening.  End of Day 2!

One thought on “Yercaud – In and Arnd – Part II”

Leave a Reply

